Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating

4
(83 reviews)
78.3% of customers recommend this property

Rating Per Category

Parking
Noise
Grounds
Construction
Maintenance
Staff

Resident Reviews

submitted by Sophia S. - |Recommended: YesIt’s ok — it’s very nice in theory and the layouts of the rooms are nice and it’s very pretty overall but there’s a lot of underlying issues like mold and water issues.
response from property -Good Morning, Sophia. Thank you for sharing your experience and we are happy to hear you like the community and rooms. We apologize for the inconveniences while work was being completed due to the recent issues. We have repaired and fixed the water issues. It is our number one goal to ensure your experience moving forward is great. Feel free to contact the leasing center anytime you have further questions, comments, or concerns. Have a wonderful day, Yugo Cincinnati Deacon
submitted by Sumanth G. - |Recommended: YesModern, spacious and clean apartment — We like this place.
response from property -Hey Sumanth! Thank you for taking the time to let us know you are enjoying your experience here at Yugo Cincinnati Deacon! Have a wonderful day! -Cincinnati Deacon Management
submitted by Benjamin M. - |Recommended: YesDeacon review — No complaints, enjoyable place to live
response from property -Good Afternoon, Benjamin. Thank you for sharing your experience. We invite you to contact us anytime during open hours if you have further questions, comments, or concerns. Thank you and have a wonderful day, Yugo Cincinnati Deacon
submitted by Keegan H. - |Recommended: Yes. — .
response from property -Good Afternoon, Keegan. Thank you for sharing your experience. We invite you to contact us anytime during open hours if you have questions, comments, or concerns. Thank you for all your patience and have a wonderful day, Yugo Cincinnati Deacon
submitted by Maurice J. - |Recommended: YesMaurice Jones — There are no complaints from me at all.
response from property -Good Afternoon, Maurice. Thank you for sharing your experience. We invite you to contact us anytime during open hours if you have further questions, comments, or concerns. Thank you for all your patience and have a wonderful day, Yugo Cincinnati Deacon
submitted by Cynthia L. - |Recommended: YesReview — The location and parking are unbeatable. The rooms are very nice and ours was clean. The grounds have a lot to offer but need better up keep. The staff was friendly and helpful. The communication before moving in was not great. Telephones weren't answered, emails weren't returned. Emails that were sent did not give enough information etc... We still have no internet in the room and were told by front desk to call ourselves which we have 3 times each time they promise to fix it and they still haven't. It has been a week.
response from property -Good Afternoon, Cynthia. Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize for the inconveniences regarding your concerns. We invite you to contact us anytime during open hours if you have further questions, comments, or concerns to assist in this matter. Thank you for all your patience and have a wonderful day, Yugo Cincinnati Deacon
submitted by Nicholas M. - |Recommended: YesPast company left a wreck — It looks like the company for Yugo left it a wreck and they are trying to fix everything wrong.
response from property -Good Afternoon, Nicholas. Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize for the inconveniences regarding your concerns. We invite you to contact us anytime during open hours if you have further questions, comments, or concerns to assist in this matter. Thank you for all your patience and have a wonderful day, Yugo Cincinnati Deacon
submitted by Kaitlyn S. - |Recommended: YesMove-In Review — Not as nice as the model that was shown to us.
response from property -Good Afternoon, Kaitlyn. Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize for the inconveniences regarding your unit's aesthetics. We invite you to contact us anytime during open hours if you have further questions, comments, or concerns to assist in this matter. Thank you for all your patience and have a wonderful day, Yugo Cincinnati Deacon
submitted by Annabella M. - |Recommended: YesDeacon 2 bedroom review — I love my apartment. It was fairly clean and very spacious. Easily accessible too.
response from property -Good Afternoon, Annabella. Thank you for sharing your experience. We invite you to contact us anytime during open hours if you have further questions, comments, or concerns. Thank you and have a wonderful day, Yugo Cincinnati Deacon
submitted by David D. - |Recommended: YesLeasing Review – Working with Miranda and her team at The Deacon with two 2 leasing requests, and having to be coordinated as roommates, was truly helpful and enjoyable. We came to The Deacon having been unexpectedly and suddenly faced with a situation out of our control filled with uncertainty about one of the most important decisions in life, “Where to live ” Within 24hrs, our feelings of uncertainty were replaced by certainty, anxiety turned into joyous comfort of peace of mind, and best of all…what was previously satisfactory housing for us was now replaced by the nicest housing in the area Look at the pictures yourself . Thank you to Miranda and her team at The Deacon I We certainly appreciate your efforts in making this come to fruition, but most of all how you handle it, us, and the situation. It is a true testimony of a mutual “Win-Win” success story for the residents at The Deacon, its staff, and us as tenants now . Thank you, very well done
response from property -We are so happy that your experience was one we hope to deliver with every experience! Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge Miranda and the leasing team, a little thanks goes a long way : )))
submitted by Morgan G. - |Recommended: YesSummer Resident — Just moved in last week and the entire staff has been great to work with. I will only be here for the summer, but this is really great property with nice amenities and very close to campus. It is also great having a parking garage attached to the property.
response from property -Thank you so much for taking the time to state your living experience at Yugo Cincinnati Deacon! You are appreciated and we hope you continue to enjoy your home here.
submitted by Sam G. - |Recommended: YesReview — Just moved in, and so far the Deacon is quite nice.
response from property -Thank you Sam! We are so happy to hear you like Yugo Cincinnati Deacon!
submitted by Lucy C. - |Recommended: NoI have lived in the Deacon from July 2020-Present and I have nothing but disappointment from this place. I have spent 1500 on my monthly parking pass And from the time I moved in in July they have had continuous issues securing the garage. My car has been broken into multiple times which the Deacon does nothing about a majority of the time I cannot even park on the floor that I live on because many non-residents park in the garage. The garage is open to anyone and everyone to enter freely, while residents remain paying 90 month to park there. Each time my family or I have contacted the Deacon about this issue, they tell me that the garage doors are being put up that week. Which has never happened… This place is not worth the price of rent or your time.
response from property -Thank you for leaving this review, Lucy. We use this feedback to improve areas of concern, such as the parking garage. We would like to apologize that your experience at The Deacon and specifically regarding the parking garage has been less than stellar. We work very hard to maintain a safe and inviting living environment for our students and their belongings. It is important to educate our students on the importance of keeping their vehicles free of any valuables to prevent burglary or theft. It is also important for us to educate our students on best practices such as never holding the door open for others and not lending their keys or passes out to friends. We have installed many new cameras, replaced all front door locks with automatic locking doors. We are currently in the final stages of adding garage gates to the entrance and exit of the garage. We have also added fencing around the exterior of the garage to eliminate foot traffic from the outside. We hope that these new features will prevent any issues that we have previously had. Additionally, if there is anything else we can do to make your living experience better, please let us know. We appreciate your review and any additional concerns can be addressed at cincinnatideacon@yugo.com.
submitted by Jordan T. - |Recommended: NoPlace is a mess, new landlord is a mess — The doors are paper thin, the couch is so cheap it's tearing into pieces, have had to get a new fridge after a year because it stopped working, ton of construction work errors, windows don't even open the tiniest bit for fresh air, this place is expensive for no reason. There are lots of stains all over the carpets and elevators smell like pee sometimes, service sucks throughout the building. Car break ins, won't do anything about it and they should be held accountable for this, wouldn't give camera access for it and the gates for the garage don't even work The place is trash to begin with and i don't know how i stayed here for so long i don't recommend it here at all, didn't recommend it when the last landlord was here and not with this one. A few days late for paying the apartment fee and i get an envelope sitting quite a distance from the front of my door after they said they tried to serve me the envelope but i didn't get a knock or anything when all i do is stay inside, i wake up at 6am and go to bed at 1am. Told me I had to move out in 3 days after, take all of my things to recover all rent passed due a few days and to recover court costs, attorney fees and stat damages. Landlords are monsters with how they treat their tenants. I'm so glad I move out this summer. This place is full of students and if you are a week past due, boom you're told to move out and they will steal all of your things and now you're a homeless college student. Couldn't give a little more time than 3 days I even read the terms of service because they're probably going to try to sue me for writing this review for defamation The people at the front desk are nice though
response from property -Jordan, thank you for your review. We apologize for the maintenance issues you seem to have had in your apartment. We work hard to ensure maintenance requests are taken care of in a timely matter and if you have any outstanding requests, please submit a work order through your Resident Portal. With a pet friendly building, we work to educate our students on the importance of cleaning up after their animals in all areas inside and outside of the building. If you notice anything needing immediate attention, please contact the office for assistance. Service throughout the building can be limited in different locations, however, we recommend contacting your carrier to discuss wi-fi calling options which is a great feature that most phones allow for. While crime knows no address, it is important to inform our students of best safety practices to ensure you are doing all that you can to prevent crime such as car break-ins. We have recently added many new safety features to our community and we hope these new initiatives will prevent any issues that we have previously had. We are sorry that you had an unpleasant experience with our payment deadlines. If you have any questions regarding when rent is due and the procedures outlined in your lease agreement, please contact our office and we would be happy to go over the information with you. Additionally, if there is anything else we can do to make your living experience here at The Deacon better, please let us know. We are eager to assist our students and ensure their time here is enhanced and enjoyed.
submitted by Elle - |Recommended: NoI lived here from 2019-2020 and im so glad i have not been back. When moving into the deacon, constructions was not done and the building had not yet been inspected by the city yet had hundreds of students moving in. The first week of me living there me and my roommates did not have appliances because the deacon was unprepared. They tried to make a handshake deal to ensure we would not complain about that situation of the building not passing inspection prior to move-in in the future but over a year later I feel the need to warn people. Staff was rude, they don't like dealing with you. Cars were broken into constantly while living there and friends who still do live there, rant often about how there was yet another break-in, in the parking garage. The entire time living there was odd and I'm glad I no longer live there.
response from property -It is with great regret that we did not give you the experience you deserved during our first move in for 2019. Since then we have improved, however the break ins to cars in the CUF are is a constant battle. We continue to improve our property with feedback such as yours, so we thank you for all the details and will continue to improve. Thank you

The views and opinions expressed herein are solely those of the original authors and other contributors. These views do not reflect the views of Yugo Cincinnati Deacon, its owners, managers, agents, employees or content providers. No representation or warranty, express or implied, is made or given by Yugo Cincinnati Deacon, its owners, managers, agents, employees or content providers regarding safety, accuracy, completeness or suitability of the information or material expressed herein for any particular purpose